Cynthia Ray Humanitarian Award

The American Association for Bronchology and Interventional Pulmonology (AABIP) is proud to announce the 2024 Cynthia Ray Humanitarian Award. Dr. Cynthia Ray was an interventional pulmonologist at Henry Ford Hospital, who lost her life at the age of 46 in the service of others, after being struck by a car on I-96 in Detroit in 2017, while helping a group of six people in an overturned vehicle.  Dr. Ray was highly regarded as an educator and mentor who embodied the highest qualities of a compassionate person and clinician.   She was a mentor for many young women in IP at a time when there were  few in the field. She is remembered as an effervescent and brilliant woman who captured a room.

In honor and memoriam of Dr. Cynthia Ray the AABIP is accepting nominations for the Cynthia Ray Humanitarian Award. Nominees should be individuals at any level in their career who demonstrate clinical excellence and the art of compassionate care. They should exemplify the humanistic qualities of medicine including integrity, service, altruism and empathy. Nominees should be regarded by their peers as clinical role models. Recipients of the award will be invited to present at the AABIP Annual Conference in Charlotte, August 22-24, 2024. 


Click the link below to submit a nomination for the 2024 AABIP Cynthia Ray Humanitarian Award.

All nominations must include:
  • Two letters of recommendation (one from the nominator and one additional supporting letter); and
  • Nominee’s curriculum vitae.
Self-nominations will NOT be accepted.

Nominations submitted in 2023 who were not selected for the award, will be considered for 2024.

All nominations must be submitted on or before Sunday, April 14, 2024.

Questions: Contact [email protected]



  • Invitation to present at the 2024 AABIP Annual Conference in Charlotte August 22-24, 2024


All nominations must be submitted submitted on or before Sunday, April 14, 2024.

Other AABIP Awards:


Help support the Cynthia Ray Humanitarian Award, Geoffrey McLennan Memorial Award, and Praveen Mathur Memorial Award.